Columbus Has Got It Goin’ On


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When I roll into a new city, I ask folks where they would take their friends/family should they come for a visit. I learn what locals love to do, where  they go, what can’t be missed, what is cheap or free to do, and most importantly, how to feel the pulse – the heart and soul of their city – before I leave. Always, I hear, “Oh, there’s SO much to do here!” That was not the case when I asked about Columbus, Ohio.

Hmmm, I thought.

I pried a few things out of those I visited with, but it was like asking about a cousin doing time in the county jail. Instinct told me these folks were sitting on a gold mine, and I set out to find it. Sure enough, It’s here…boy is it here!

Columbus, though younger and smaller than Cincinnati, is busting at the seams with tons of art, green space, eateries, and unique, quirky finds that make it a fascinating place to explore. I had fun here poking around German Village, home to the Book Loft (32 rooms of books), the Short North district, covered with art on buildings, walls and utility boxes, the Riverfront and North Market (oldest Farmer’s Market in the country). The Topiary Garden is an interpretation of George Seurat’s famous painting, A Sunday Afternoon on the Isle of La Grande Jatte. Columbus is home to Ohio State University, Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream, the Santa Maria (full-scale replica), the world’s oldest traffic light (still in operation), and German Village, Italian Village, and Victorian Village. Each historical area is distinctly unique and quite comfortable with itself.

I tend to believe that living in Columbus must be like living with a talented family member. Your experience of them is so natural, so commonplace and repetitive that they seem quite ordinary, bland, even boring. Well, Columbus, I’d like to introduce you to your truly amazing city. Lucky you to live here!

One thought on “Columbus Has Got It Goin’ On

  1. True,
    I am really enjoying your posts! You are making me want to visit places I have never had any interest in seeing. And it sounds like you are having a blast!

    What a great idea you had to do this! Looking forward to hearing the untold stories when you make it back home….

    -Laurel

Leave a Reply

